The authorities a company meets after the licence
Every government system, what it does and whether it can be filed online.
Immigration, labour, tax and identity. Each system lists its portal, its login, the fees it publishes and where automation is not possible.
Corporate bank accounts
Process of opening a corporate bank account for a UAE free zone company. Banks require a valid trade license, and the type (free zone vs mainland) influences eligibility. Founders typically need a UAE residence visa and Emirates ID. Digital banks (Wio, Mashreq NeoBiz) offer faster, online onboarding with zero or low minimum balances, while traditional banks (Emirates NBD, ADCB, RAKBANK) have higher minimum balances and longer processing. Some free zone authorities (e.g., DMCC) offer assisted bank account opening services for a fee. finzil.com mashreq.com 3s-dubai.com
| Fee | AED |
|---|---|
| Wio Bank Business Account (Essential) monthly fee | not published |
| Mashreq NeoBiz Business Account monthly fee (basic plan) | not published |
| Emirates NBD Business Account (Prime) monthly fee | not published |
| RAKBANK Business Account monthly fall-below fee (if balance < AED 100,000) | not published |
| ADCB Business Account minimum balance requirement (monthly fee not specified in sources) | not published |
| DMCC Bank Account Opening Service Fee (Application Fee AED 2,000 non-refundable + Processing Fee AED 3,000 refundable) | not published |
| 3S Dubai agent service fee (starting from) | not published |
Rules and risks
- Trade license is mandatory before any bank will open an account. businessbankindex.com
- Residence visa and Emirates ID for authorized signatories are typically required; some banks (Mashreq NeoBiz, Emirates NBD) explicitly require at least one signatory to reside in the UAE. finzil.com
- RAKBANK requires in-person Emirates ID validation. finzil.com
- Banks have full discretion to accept or reject applications; approval is not guaranteed. rakicc.com DMCC terms
- Minimum balance requirements vary (AED 0 for digital banks up to AED 100,000+ for traditional). Falling below triggers monthly fees. finzil.com
- DMCC's assisted service does not guarantee success, has a 3-month limit, and the processing fee is only refundable under specific conditions. DMCC terms
- Required documents typically include trade license, MOA, Emirates IDs, CVs, bank statements, proof of address, and company profile. meydanfz-links-documents.s3.amazonaws.com mashreq.com
Not researched
- ADCB monthly account fee not found in provided sources; only minimum balance range is known.
- Exact processing times for each specific bank are not uniformly documented; ranges are approximate.
- No information on API or integration capabilities for any bank's account opening process.
- Some banks' fee structures (e.g., ADCB, RAKBANK full tariff) are incomplete in the sources.
- The 'portal' field is generic because there is no single government portal for bank account opening.
FTA EmaraTax
portalThe Federal Tax Authority (FTA) EmaraTax portal is the online system for UAE businesses to register for Corporate Tax (CT) and Value Added Tax (VAT), obtain a Tax Registration Number (TRN), file tax returns, and manage tax obligations. It also defines rules for Qualifying Free Zone Persons (QFZP) to benefit from a 0% CT rate on qualifying income.
| Fee | AED |
|---|---|
| Corporate Tax registration | not published |
| VAT registration | not published |
Rules and risks
- All juridical persons (including free zone companies) must register for Corporate Tax and obtain a TRN, even if they qualify for 0% rate as a QFZP.
- Free Zone Persons must meet all conditions (adequate substance, qualifying income, de minimis, etc.) to be a Qualifying Free Zone Person and benefit from 0% CT; otherwise, standard 9% rate applies.
- VAT registration is mandatory if taxable supplies exceed AED 375,000 in the past 12 months or next 30 days; voluntary if above AED 187,500.
- Branches of UAE companies are not separately registered; the head office registers on behalf of all branches.
- Registration applications can be rejected if incomplete; FTA may request additional documents.
- Tax returns must be filed within 9 months after the end of the tax period.
- Using an unregistered tax agent is not permitted; only FTA-registered tax agents can represent taxpayers.
Not researched
- Exact timeline for CT registration deadline for newly formed companies (beyond the general 20-day processing) is not specified in the provided sources; FTA Decision No. 3 of 2024 details are not included.
- No information on penalties for late registration in the provided sources.
- The specific API or integration capabilities are not mentioned; assumed none based on available documentation.
GDRFA Dubai
portalThe General Directorate of Residency and Foreigners Affairs (GDRFA) Dubai issues entry permits, residence visas, and Emirates IDs for individuals sponsored by companies in Dubai, including free zone and mainland entities. It also handles visa renewals, status adjustments, and related immigration services.
| Fee | AED |
|---|---|
| Residence permit issuance (2-year, inside country) – employment | not published |
| Individual residence entry permit (family sponsorship, inside country) | not published |
| Individual residence entry permit (family sponsorship, outside country) | not published |
| Residence permit renewal (3-year, expatriate sponsor) | not published |
Rules and risks
- Overstaying fines: AED 25 per day after entry permit expiry (source: FAQ).
- Grace period: 60 days after residence permit expiry or cancellation to stay in country (source: private sector page).
- Residence permit fee increases by AED 100 annually for residencies over 2 years (source: private sector page).
- Company must have a valid establishment card and trade license to sponsor visas (source: overview and FAQ).
- For free zone companies, the free zone authority acts as sponsor (source: FAQ).
- Medical fitness test and Emirates ID application are mandatory steps (source: gulfnews article).
Not researched
- Exact fee for residence permit issuance when applicant is outside the country not explicitly stated; only inside country fee of AED500 is listed, so total outside likely AED240 but unconfirmed.
- Processing time for free zone Bundle platform not specified.
- No API documentation available for integration.
- Fees for free zone-sponsored visas may differ from private sector fees; only private sector fees found.
ICP: visas and Emirates ID
portalICP is the federal authority that issues Emirates ID cards, residence visas, and establishment cards. For a new company, it processes the company's establishment card, sponsors' and employees' entry permits, residence visas, and Emirates ID registrations.
| Fee | AED |
|---|---|
| Residence permit application fee | AED 100 |
| Residence permit issuance fee (per year) | AED 100 |
| Smart services fee | AED 100 |
| Status adjustment fee | AED 500 |
| Financial deposit fee | AED 20 |
Rules and risks
- Applications must be submitted through an establishment account or an authorized typing centre; individual direct filing is limited.
- Emirates ID biometrics (fingerprint, photo) require a physical visit to an ICP centre unless previously captured.
- Residence visa validity is tied to the establishment card and medical fitness results; delays in any step can cause overstay fines.
- Fees are non-refundable and subject to change; always verify on the official ICP service page before payment.
- The establishment card must be active and correctly reflect the company's trade name, partners, and activities.
Not researched
- Emirates ID issuance/renewal fees are not listed in the provided sources; the service page only shows residence permit fees.
- Establishment card issuance, renewal, and amendment fees are not found in the provided sources.
- The guarantee fee of AED 5,000 per year for domestic workers is not applicable to company founders; excluded from the fees list.
- Investor-specific visa fees (e.g., Golden Visa) are not detailed in the provided sources.
- Typing centre service charges (if used) are not included; only official ICP fees are shown.
Invest in Dubai
portalThe Invest in Dubai (IID) platform is the unified digital window for establishing companies in Dubai. It enables investors to apply for, renew, amend, or cancel trade licences, permits, and approvals. It issues a Dubai Unified Licence (DUL) – a unique digital identity for every business – which streamlines access to banking, utilities, and government services. The platform integrates with multiple government entities (MOHRE, MoFA, CDA, DCAA, etc.) and offers AI-powered features such as instant licence issuance, automated business name reservation, and permit approvals.
Rules and risks
- All applications for licences, permits, and approvals must be submitted through the Digital Window (mandatory per Decree No. 13 of 2024).
- Certain activities require additional permits or approvals before licence issuance, which may delay the process.
- Trade licence payment must be made within 30 days of receiving the payment voucher; otherwise the application is cancelled.
- Free zones and special development zones (including DIFC) process applications through their own electronic systems but still submit via the Digital Window, subject to their own procedures and fees.
- Data accuracy is critical; errors may cause delays due to integration with multiple government entities.
Not researched
- No specific fee for using the Invest in Dubai platform itself; fees are for licences and permits, set by each licensing authority.
- Login method (e.g., UAE Pass, email) not detailed in the provided sources.
- No API documentation or third-party integration details available.
- Exact list of activities requiring pre-approvals not provided.
- Who can file (owner vs. agent) is not explicitly stated; assumed both based on general practice.
MOHRE: work permits
portalMOHRE is the federal authority regulating employment and labour relations for mainland companies in the UAE. It handles establishment registration, work permit issuance, renewal and cancellation, employment contracts, and labour complaints. The Work Bundle platform integrates work permit, residency, Emirates ID, and medical examination processes.
| Fee | AED |
|---|---|
| Work permit issuance/renewal (range based on company classification A, B, C) | AED 250 |
| Bank guarantee per employee (refundable) | not published |
| Work permit quotas request (Ta’qeem fees) | not published |
| Business center commission (capped) | not published |
| Establishment card issuance | not published |
| E-signature card | not published |
Rules and risks
- Only mainland companies registered with MOHRE can use these services; free zone companies are excluded.
- A bank guarantee of AED 3,000 per employee must be deposited and is refundable upon cancellation.
- Work permits are valid for 60 days; fees must be paid within that period or the permit is cancelled.
- Company classification (A, B, C) affects work permit fees, ranging from AED 250 to AED 3,450.
- Employee quota is determined by MOHRE based on company size, activity, and legal status.
- The employee must be at least 18 years old, profession must match company activity, and no existing valid work permit from another company.
- E-signature card and establishment card are prerequisites for applying for work permits.
- The employer must bear all costs, including the bank guarantee.
Not researched
- Exact fees for establishment card and e-signature card not found in provided sources.
- Breakdown of work permit fees by classification (A, B, C) not provided; only the range AED 250-3,450.
- No information on fees for employment contract issuance/renewal beyond the mention of free service on MOHRE website (federal charges may apply).
- Free zone companies are not covered by MOHRE; separate authority processes apply.
UAE PASS
portalUAE PASS is the national digital identity and signature solution for the UAE. It enables individuals (citizens, residents, and visitors) to securely authenticate themselves to government and private sector service providers via a smartphone app. It provides single sign-on to over 15,000 services, digital document storage, and legally binding digital signatures. For company formation, founders use UAE PASS to log in to government portals (e.g., Ministry of Industry, free zone authorities) to complete registration, sign documents, and access e-services without physical visits.
| Fee | AED |
|---|---|
| UAE PASS registration and usage | not published |
Rules and risks
- Requires a valid Emirates ID and UAE mobile number for citizens/residents; visitors can use passport or GCC ID.
- Biometric data (facial recognition) is collected during registration.
- Service providers may mandate UAE PASS for access (e.g., MoIAT made it mandatory for industrial services).
- Account can be terminated if the user is legally incompatible (e.g., invalid Emirates ID).
- Users must keep their app and credentials secure; loss of phone may require account recovery.
- Digital signatures via UAE PASS are legally binding; misuse could have legal consequences.
- Currently free, but terms allow future introduction of charges with notice.
Not researched
- No specific information on which free zone authorities require UAE PASS for company registration; integration varies by authority.
- No details on whether a corporate UAE PASS account exists for companies (the system is primarily for individuals).
- No data on the exact steps in the company formation process where UAE PASS is used (e.g., at trade name reservation, license issuance, etc.).
UBO, ESR and AML
portalThe system requires UAE free zone and mainland companies to maintain a register of Ultimate Beneficial Owners (UBOs) and shareholders, comply with Economic Substance Regulations (ESR) by filing notifications and reports, adhere to Anti-Money Laundering (AML) and Know Your Customer (KYC) obligations, and report suspicious transactions via the goAML portal.
Rules and risks
- Must create and maintain a Register of UBO and Register of Partners/Shareholders within 60 days of incorporation (Meydan FZ FAQ).
- Update UBO register within 15 business days of any change (Hamriyah FZ UBO Form).
- Submit UBO information to the licensing authority upon request (Ajman FZ UBO page).
- All companies must register on the goAML portal and report suspicious transactions without delay (CBUAE Rulebook 4.3).
- ESR Notification must be filed within 6 months after financial year end; ESR Report within 12 months (MoF ESR Guidance).
- Retain all relevant records for 6 years (MoF ESR Guidance).
- Non-compliance may result in administrative penalties under Cabinet Resolution No. 53 of 2021 (Meydan FZ FAQ).
- Security checks via UAE Authorities on natural person shareholders, directors, and general manager (IFZA Terms).
- Risk-based approach required to prevent money laundering and terrorism financing (Cabinet Decision 109/2023).
Not researched
- No government fees for UBO registration, ESR filing, or goAML registration were found in the provided sources.
- The specific portal for UBO submission varies by free zone (e.g., Ajman Free Zone online portal); no single unified portal.
- Processing times for goAML registration or ESR portal registration are not specified.
- Delegation of goAML reporting to a third party is allowed, but the primary obligation remains with the company.