Guides · renewal
Licence renewal
Free zone companies in the UAE must renew their trade licence annually (or for multi-year terms where allowed) before the expiry date. The renewal process checks compliance with lease, insurance, regulatory approvals, and financial reporting requirements. Fees and penalties vary by free zone; Jafza publishes specific licence renewal fees and a late fine, while RAKEZ imposes a daily late penalty. DMCC outlines detailed renewal prerequisites but does not disclose the renewal fee amount in the provided sources.
Who it applies to
The rules that decide it
Thresholds and rates
Penalties
Step by step
Common mistakes
Free zone specifics
Questions the guide answers
It depends on the free zone. DMCC allows renewal for 2, 3, or 5 years, except for industrial and certain regulated activities. Jafza permits a three-year renewal only for customers with plot leases and more than 3 years' validity, at a flat fee of amount not yet confirmed per licence type. Other free zones may only offer annual renewal.
You may be granted a discretionary grace period (e.g., DMCC), but penalties will apply. Jafza charges a flat amount not yet confirmed fine for delay; RAKEZ charges amount not yet confirmed per day. Continued non-renewal can lead to licence suspension or termination.
Common requirements include a valid lease (minimum 30 days validity), insurance policies (third-party liability, workmen's compensation), NOCs from regulatory authorities for regulated activities, and for branches/subsidiaries a Certificate of Good Standing for the parent company. DMCC also requires audited financial statements unless exempt.
Yes. DMCC states that companies with industrial and certain regulated activities cannot apply for two-, three-, or five-year licence renewal. Jafza's three-year renewal is limited to plot lease customers.
What the research does not settle
- DMCC licence renewal fee amount not found in provided sources.
- Penalty amount for late renewal in DMCC not specified (only 'sanction' and 'penalties will apply').
- Renewal fees for RAKEZ, DDA, ATLP, UAQ FTZ, Expo City Dubai, and DWTC free zones not provided.
- Grace period duration (number of days) not quantified for any free zone.
- Specific late penalty for DDA, ATLP, UAQ FTZ, Expo City Dubai, and DWTC not found.
- Jafza three-year renewal fee of amount not yet confirmed per licence type appears to be a flat fee, but it is unclear if this replaces or is in addition to the annual licence fee; source states 'Three years’ charges will be amount not yet confirmed for each license Type.'