Abu Dhabi · Abu Dhabi Department of Economic Development (ADDED) · all zones
Abu Dhabi mainland
Mainland licence enabling unrestricted business across the UAE, direct access to the local market, government contracts, and industrial operations. No minimum capital requirement for most activities, low setup costs.
Packages, as published
Official rows come from the authority's own list. A row marked agent comes from a reseller because the authority does not publish that package, and it can contain a margin.
| Package | Licence | Visas | Workspace | Setup | Renewal | Kind | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Professional License (0 visa)from | professional | n/a | none | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | breeobusiness.com |
| 1 Visa Packagefrom | not stated | n/a | flexi desk | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | goldenkeybcs.com |
| 3 Visa Packagefrom | not stated | n/a | flexi desk | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | goldenkeybcs.com |
| Business License (Virtual Office) 0 Visafrom | not stated | n/a | virtual | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | ezonedubai.ae |
| Professional Licensefrom | professional | n/a | not stated | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | aurabusinessservices.com |
| Commercial Licensefrom | commercial | n/a | not stated | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | aurabusinessservices.com |
| Mainland Company (starting)from | not stated | n/a | not stated | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | e.zone |
Fees, line by line
The figures our sum is built from. Only a proven fee is shown; the rest read not yet confirmed, and a reseller-only figure says so on its line.
The line stays visible and reads not yet confirmed. A figure the research records but the verification pass has not proven is never shown, and never becomes a zero.
Company and licence types
- Limited Liability Company
1-50 shareholders; foreign ownership up to 100% for most activities - Sole Proprietorship
Single owner; can be foreign for professional activities - Establishment
Single owner
- Abu Dhabi Trader Licence
Business activities within Abu Dhabi emirate - Dual Licence
Allows free zone companies to conduct business on the mainland - Freelancer Licence
Professional services as a freelancer - Mobdea Licence
Innovation and technology-based activities - Small Producers Licence
Small-scale production and manufacturing - Standard Licence
All commercial, industrial, professional activities - Virtual Licence
Non-resident foreign investors; business conducted remotely
How the authority processes it
Each step names who holds it. Days are the authority's published figure or a gap.
- step 1 · days gapIdentify business activity and legal formInvestor
- step 2 · days gapRegister trade nameInvestor or agent
- step 3 · days gapApply for initial approvalInvestor or agent
- step 4 · days gapDraft and notarise Memorandum of AssociationInvestor, notary
- step 5 · days gapSecure business premises and tenancy contractInvestor
- step 6 · days gapObtain additional government approvals if requiredInvestor or agent
- step 7 · days gapSubmit documents and pay feesInvestor or agent
- step 8 · days gapReceive trade licenceADDED
Yes, unrestricted trading across the UAE mainland.
9% corporate tax on taxable income above amount not yet confirmed; 0% on income below that. Must register with FTA and file annual returns.
Documents the authority asks for
- Trade name certificate
- Copy of valid passport
- Copy of Emirates ID (if resident)
- Initial approval receipt
- Memorandum of Association (attested)
- Tenancy contract (attested by municipality, if required)
- Approvals from other government entities (if applicable)
- Service agent contract (if 100% non-GCC owned civil establishment)
- not researched
After the licence
Financial year, audit, corporate tax, VAT, UBO and renewal, as the authority states them.
How we file it
Internal view of the authority's channels and screens. It is what a filing integration has to work against, not a promise that the filing is live. integration source
- step 1Login with UAE PassInvestorinputs: UAE Pass credentials
- step 2Select licence type (e.g., Virtual Licence, Instant Licence, Standard)Investorinputs: Licence type selection
- step 3Choose economic activityInvestorinputs: Activity code/description
- step 4Reserve trade nameInvestorinputs: Proposed trade name (English only for Virtual Licence)
- step 5Enter contact detailsInvestorinputs: Phone, email, address
- step 6Upload shareholder identificationInvestoruploads: Copy of passport (and Emirates ID if applicable)
- step 7Upload additional documents (if required)Investoruploads: Memorandum of Association (attested, if applicable), Lease agreement (attested Tawtheeq, if applicable), Regulatory approvals (activity-dependent)
- step 8Pay feesInvestorinputs: Credit card details
- step 9Receive licenceSystem
Automation risks
- UAE Pass authentication may require biometric or OTP, blocking automated login.
- Document attestation and Arabic translation requirements may necessitate manual handling.
- Lease agreement attestation (Tawtheeq) may require physical presence or notarisation.
- Notarisation of Memorandum of Association may require in-person visit to notary public.
Open integration gaps
- No information on agent or partner program for business setup agents.
- No API or bulk submission capabilities mentioned.
- Exact official licence fee breakdown not found in provided sources; agent-reported fee used.
- Specific document format requirements (file types, size limits) not detailed.
- Automation terms of service not available.
What we still do not know about Abu Dhabi mainland
The research names its own holes. They stay on the page until a source fills them.
Prices
- No official ADDED fee schedule available; all fees are from agent sources.
- Establishment card fee not confirmed by multiple sources.
- Immigration card not mentioned in any source.
- Renewal costs for many packages not provided.
Structure and process
- Exact fee amounts not provided
- Processing times not specified
- Corporate shareholder document requirements not listed
- Bank account opening process not detailed
- Mobdea and Small Producers licence details limited
- Activity catalogue URL not provided
Compliance
- Late corporate tax registration penalty not found
- Voluntary VAT registration threshold not specified
- Specific licence renewal cost and late penalty not provided
- Banking details (common banks, account opening timeline, minimum balance, pain points) not available
- Deregistration process and cost not mentioned
- AML/goAML registration requirement not explicitly stated for mainland
Sources
Everything above was read from these pages. The read date is on each line.