Abu Dhabi · Abu Dhabi Global Market (ADGM) · all zones
ADGM
International financial centre and free zone on Al Maryah Island, Abu Dhabi, with its own civil and commercial laws based on English common law, 0% tax, no restrictions on repatriation, and aligned with international best practice. adgm.com adgm.com
Packages, as published
Official rows come from the authority's own list. A row marked agent comes from a reseller because the authority does not publish that package, and it can contain a margin.
| Package | Licence | Visas | Workspace | Setup | Renewal | Kind | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Category A (Financial), Licence OnlyOfficial ADGM Schedule of Fees 2025, Category A total initial and renewal (amount not yet confirmed / 16,500 converted at 3.6725) | Financial (Category A) | n/a | none | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | official | assets.adgm.com |
| Category B (Non-Financial), Licence OnlyOfficial schedule, Category B total initial amount not yet confirmed, renewal amount not yet confirmed | Non-Financial (Category B) | n/a | none | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | official | assets.adgm.com |
| Category C (Retail), Licence OnlyOfficial schedule, Category C total initial amount not yet confirmed, renewal amount not yet confirmed | Retail (Category C) | n/a | none | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | official | assets.adgm.com |
| Specialized (SPV), Licence OnlyOfficial schedule, Specialized total initial amount not yet confirmed, renewal amount not yet confirmed | Special Purpose Vehicle (Specialized) | n/a | none | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | official | assets.adgm.com |
| Foundation, Licence OnlyOfficial schedule, Foundation total initial amount not yet confirmed, renewal amount not yet confirmed | Foundation | n/a | none | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | official | assets.adgm.com |
| Tech Startup (Incentivized), Licence OnlyOfficial schedule, Tech Start-up incentive amount not yet confirmed + mandatory data protection amount not yet confirmed = amount not yet confirmed, converted at 3.6725. Renewal same for first 3 years. | Tech Startup (Incentivized) | n/a | none | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | official | assets.adgm.com |
| Venture Capital Fund Manager (Incentivized), Licence OnlyOfficial schedule, VC incentive amount not yet confirmed + data protection amount not yet confirmed = amount not yet confirmed | VC Fund Manager (Incentivized) | n/a | none | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | official | assets.adgm.com |
| Social Enterprise (Incentivized), Licence OnlyOfficial schedule, Social Enterprise incentive amount not yet confirmed + data protection amount not yet confirmed = amount not yet confirmed | Social Enterprise (Incentivized) | n/a | none | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | official | assets.adgm.com |
| Tech Startup Licence (0 Visa), Agent PackageAgent package from Sijil; Year 1 matches official fee with data protection, renewal excludes data protection (amount not yet confirmed = amount not yet confirmed) | Tech Startup | n/a | none | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | sijil.ae |
| Commercial Licence LTD (0 Visa), Agent PackageAgent package from Sijil; matches official Cat B fee (amount not yet confirmed ≈ amount not yet confirmed) | Non-Financial (Category B) | n/a | none | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | sijil.ae |
| LTD with 1 Visa, Agent PackageAgent package from Sijil; includes licence, flexi desk, establishment card, 1 visa, insurance | Non-Financial (Category B) | n/a | flexi desk | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | sijil.ae |
| 1 Visa Package, Agent Package (freezonecompare)Agent package; renewal excludes visa renewal (2-year validity). Includes licence, workspace, establishment card, insurance. | Non-Financial (Category B) | n/a | flexi desk | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | freezonecompare.com |
| Tech Start-up All-In (1 Visa), Agent BreakdownAgent breakdown from dxbstart.com; includes incorporation, licence, business activity, data protection, establishment card, founder residence visa. Renewal not published. | Tech Startup | n/a | none | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | dxbstart.com |
- Tech Startup incentive: amount not yet confirmed/year for first 3 years (registration + 2 renewals), then reverts to standard Category B or A fees.
- Venture Capital Fund Manager incentive: amount not yet confirmed/year for 3 years.
- Social Enterprise incentive: amount not yet confirmed/year (ongoing, subject to certification).
- 2025 fee reduction: Non-financial (Cat B) and retail (Cat C) licence fees reduced by 50% or more from 1 January 2025.
Fees, line by line
The figures our sum is built from. Only a proven fee is shown; the rest read not yet confirmed, and a reseller-only figure says so on its line.
The line stays visible and reads not yet confirmed. A figure the research records but the verification pass has not proven is never shown, and never becomes a zero.
Company and licence types
- Financial services provider
1 shareholder (individual or corporate) permitted - Non-financial company
1 shareholder (individual or corporate) permitted - Retail company
1 shareholder (individual or corporate) permitted - Special Purpose Vehicle
1 shareholder (individual or corporate) permitted - Foundation
N/A (foundation structure)
- Financial Services Permission
Regulated financial activities as authorised by FSRA - Commercial Licence (Non-Financial)
Non-financial economic activities (e.g., legal, accounting, consulting, holding company) - Retail Licence
Retail operations within ADGM - Tech Start-up Licence
Incentivised licence for tech startups with Hub71 approval
How the authority processes it
Each step names who holds it. Days are the authority's published figure or a gap.
- step 1 · days gapDetermine business activity and license typeApplicant
- step 2 · days gapFor financial services, obtain FSRA initial meeting and in-principle approvalFSRA
- step 3 · days gapPrepare business plan and gather required documentsApplicant
- step 4 · days gapIdentify and register office lease (except SPVs)Applicant
- step 5 · days gapSubmit application for commercial licence via online portalApplicant
- step 6 · days gapReceive In-Principle ApprovalRegistration Authority
- step 7 · days gapApply for registration/incorporationApplicant
- step 8 · days gapLicense issuanceRegistration Authority
Not explicitly stated in provided sources; as a free zone, direct mainland trading likely requires a local distributor or branch.
0% corporate income tax guaranteed for 50 years from 2013 (renewable) per ADGM law; entities likely qualify as Qualifying Free Zone Persons under UAE CT regime, benefiting from 0% tax on qualifying income. adgm.com adgm.com
Documents the authority asks for
- Valid passport copy
- Emirates ID copy (if resident)
- Source of wealth documentation (bank statement dated within 3 months)
- Proof of address (dated within 3 months)
- Business plan
- Completed application forms
- Board resolution to incorporate
- Register of directors or evidence of signing authority (not older than 3 months)
- Constitutional documents
- Valid passport copies of authorised signatories
- Source of wealth of UBOs (if >25%)
- Business plan
- Completed application forms
After the licence
Financial year, audit, corporate tax, VAT, UBO and renewal, as the authority states them.
How we file it
Internal view of the authority's channels and screens. It is what a filing integration has to work against, not a promise that the filing is live. integration source
- step 1Create user account on registration.adgm.comApplicant or CSPinputs: Email, Password
- step 2Select company type and start application (e.g., for SPV: Online Services > Companies > Registration of SPV Companies > Incorporate a Private Company Limited by Shares as an SPV)Applicant or CSPinputs: Company type selection
- step 3Fill in company details, shareholders, directors, authorised signatoriesApplicant or CSPinputs: Company name, Activity, Share capital, Personal details of shareholders/directors/signatories, Addressesuploads: Passport copies, Emirates ID copies, Proof of address (dated within 3 months), Source of wealth documents (if required)
- step 4Complete Fit and Proper confirmation for each authorised signatory (tick-box declaration)Signatory or applicantinputs: Answers to fit and proper questions
- step 5Upload supporting documentsApplicant or CSPuploads: Business plan (template available), Resolution (template available), Articles of Association (model articles available), Signed lease agreement or consent letter from CSP, Any other supporting documents
- step 6Provide declaration and consent (tick box)Applicantinputs: Tick box confirmation
- step 7Pay registration and service feesApplicantinputs: Credit card details (Visa/MasterCard) or bank transfer instructions
- step 8Submit applicationApplicant
- step 9Track application status on dashboard and receive email notificationsApplicant
Automation risks
- Automated submissions may be rejected if they do not accurately represent the applicant's information
- Registrar can request additional documentation at any time, requiring human response
- Online system may have anti-bot measures not disclosed
- Use of CSPs is encouraged for complex applications, which may limit direct automation
Open integration gaps
- Exact fee amounts not provided in the given sources
- Processing times vary (few days for simple, 21 days for Tech Start-up licence review) but not detailed for all types
- Document file format and size limits not specified
- API availability not mentioned
- Terms of service regarding automated access not found
- CSP program requirements and fees not detailed
What we still do not know about ADGM
The research names its own holes. They stay on the page until a source fills them.
Prices
- Medical and Emirates ID fees are not published by ADGM; agent estimates: medical ~amount not yet confirmed, Emirates ID ~amount not yet confirmed.
- Coworking/flexi desk prices are not officially published; lowest agent quote is amount not yet confirmed/year.
- Share capital minimum is not specified by ADGM; no paid-up capital required for most non-financial entities.
- Visa quota per desk is not officially published; agents state 2-4 visas per flexi desk.
- E-Channels account renewal fee (amount not yet confirmed) is not included in first-year all-in cost estimates.
- Renewal cost for the dxbstart.com Tech Start-up all-in package is not published.
Structure and process
- Exact fee schedule not provided
- Total typical days not explicitly stated for all license types (non-financial 'a few days', tech startup 21 days review)
- Mainland trading rules not detailed
- Activity catalogue count not available
- Portal URL and specific features (API, e-signature, payment) not mentioned
- Renewal and compliance requirements not covered
- How to become a CSP agent not detailed
- Physical visit requirements not specified (office lease required but remote arrangement possible)
Compliance
- Explicit accounting standard not stated in the guidance, but IFRS is implied from QFZP requirements.
- Audit fee or late filing penalty amounts not provided.
- Corporate tax registration deadline and late registration penalty not provided.
- VAT thresholds, designated zone status, and other VAT details not covered.
- ESR, UBO, and AML obligations not covered.
- Licence renewal cost, specific requirements, and late penalty not provided.
- Visa and labour processes not covered.
- Banking details (common banks, account opening timelines, minimum balance, pain points) not covered.
- Deregistration process and cost not covered.
Sources
Everything above was read from these pages. The read date is on each line.