Dubai · Dubai Airport Freezone Authority (DAFZA) · all zones
DAFZ
A prestigious, advanced freezone adjacent to Dubai International Airport, home to 3,400+ businesses from 20+ sectors, offering a business-focused, tax-free environment with 100% foreign ownership, full repatriation of earnings, and rapid clearance. dafz.ae dafz.ae
Packages, as published
Official rows come from the authority's own list. A row marked agent comes from a reseller because the authority does not publish that package, and it can contain a margin.
| Package | Licence | Visas | Workspace | Setup | Renewal | Kind | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smart OfficeSum of official price list items: annual rent 16,250 + license 15,000 = 31,250 recurring; registration 7,000 + MOA/AOA 500 + establishment card 2,020 = 9,520 one‑time. Total 40,770. | 1 Industry Category & 3 Sub Activities | n/a | dedicated desk | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | official | dxbstart.com |
| Boutique OfficeOfficial price list: annual rent 37,500 + license 15,000 = 52,500 recurring; one‑time 9,520. Total 62,020. | 1 Industry Category & 3 Sub Activities | n/a | office | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | official | dxbstart.com |
| Premium Office (25 sqm)Official price list: annual rent 62,500 + license 15,000 = 77,500 recurring; one‑time 9,520. Total 87,020. | 1 Industry Category & 3 Sub Activities | n/a | office | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | official | dxbstart.com |
| Premium Plus Office (50 sqm)Official price list: annual rent 125,000 + license 15,000 = 140,000 recurring; one‑time 9,520. Total 149,520. | 1 Industry Category & 3 Sub Activities | n/a | office | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | official | dxbstart.com |
| Standard Office 25 sqmOfficial price list: annual rent + service charge 55,155 + license 15,000 = 70,155 recurring; one‑time 9,520. Total 79,675. | 1 Industry Category & 3 Sub Activities | n/a | office | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | official | dxbstart.com |
| Standard Office 50 sqm (General Trading)Official price list: annual rent + service charge 110,310 + license 50,000 = 160,310 recurring; one‑time registration 20,000 + MOA/AOA 500 + establishment card 2,020 = 22,520. Total 182,830. | General Trading | n/a | office | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | official | dxbstart.com |
| Light Industrial UnitAgent‑reported package (DXBStart): every year 440,425 + year one only 9,520 = 449,945. Official price list snippet not available; treated as agent price. | Industrial | n/a | warehouse | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | dxbstart.com |
- Free employment quota, waived non‑sponsored work permit fees (new & renewal), waived letters/NOCs/contract amendment charges, free temporary work permits (3 & 1 months), free meeting rooms twice yearly, priority DIEZA tenders (from DAFZ Essentials e‑book).
Fees, line by line
The figures our sum is built from. Only a proven fee is shown; the rest read not yet confirmed, and a reseller-only figure says so on its line.
The line stays visible and reads not yet confirmed. A figure the research records but the verification pass has not proven is never shown, and never becomes a zero.
Company and licence types
- Freezone Company
1-50 (individual or corporate) - Public Limited Company
No limit - Branch
N/A (parent company)
- Trade License
Import, export, re-export, distribution, storage of specific products; also E-commerce license option for online trade of goods and services. dafz.ae - Industrial License
Light manufacturing, packaging, assembling. dafz.ae - General Trading License
General trading activities including import, export, re-export, storage, distribution. dafz.ae - Dual License with DET
Allows DAFZ companies to apply for a DET (Dubai Department of Economy and Tourism) license without physical office space on the mainland, enabling mainland trading. dafz.ae dafz.ae - Talent Pass License
Freelancing activities in media, technology, or education; includes visa entitlement and possibility of leasing a smart office. dafz.ae
How the authority processes it
Each step names who holds it. Days are the authority's published figure or a gap.
- step 1 · days gapChoose business activity and legal formApplicant
- step 2 · days gapSubmit online application and documents for initial approvalApplicant
- step 3 · days gapDAFZ reviews and issues initial approvalDAFZ
- step 4 · days gapSign lease agreement and make paymentApplicant
- step 5 · days gapSubmit notarized and attested legal documents for registrationApplicant
- step 6 · days gapDAFZ issues trade licenseDAFZ
- step 7 · days gapCollect office keysApplicant
Yes, via Dual License with DET (Dubai Department of Economy and Tourism) without physical office space on the mainland. dafz.ae dafz.ae
UAE Corporate Tax: 0% on taxable income up to amount not yet confirmed; 9% above. Free zone entities may qualify for exemptions on qualifying income, subject to conditions. All DAFZ companies must register and file annual returns. dafz.ae
Documents the authority asks for
- Online Application Form dafz.ae
- Company Profile / Brochure dafz.ae
- Shareholders resolution for incorporation, appointment of manager/director/secretary (notarized and attested) dafz.ae
- Ultimate Beneficial Owner (UBO) passport copy (notarized and attested) dafz.ae
- UBO declaration form and supporting documents (proof of residential address, corporate structure chart if applicable) dafz.ae
- Bank share capital letter if share capital above amount not yet confirmed (from a local bank) dafz.ae
- Online Application Form dafz.ae
- Certificate of Registration/Incorporation of parent company (notarized and attested) dafz.ae
- Memorandum & Articles of Association of parent company (notarized and attested) dafz.ae
- Parent company resolution for establishment, appointment of manager, power of attorney (notarized and attested) dafz.ae
- UBO passport copy (notarized and attested) dafz.ae
- UBO declaration form and supporting documents dafz.ae
- Bank share capital letter if share capital above amount not yet confirmed (from a local bank) dafz.ae
After the licence
Financial year, audit, corporate tax, VAT, UBO and renewal, as the authority states them.
How we file it
Internal view of the authority's channels and screens. It is what a filing integration has to work against, not a promise that the filing is live. integration source
- step 1Scope activity and licence typeInvestorinputs: Business activity description, Licence type (commercial, service, industrial, etc.)
- step 2Trade name reservationInvestorinputs: Proposed trade names (up to 3)
- step 3Initial approval (gate 1)Investorinputs: Company structure details, Shareholder informationuploads: Passport copies of shareholders, Business plan (if required)
- step 4Workspace lease (gate 2)Investorinputs: Workspace type (smart desk, office, warehouse), Lease term
- step 5Document submission and KYCInvestorinputs: Personal details for KYCuploads: Passport copies, Visa copies (if any), CV, Educational degrees, Reference letters, Portfolio (for Talent Pass), Service list and fees (for Talent Pass)
- step 6PaymentInvestorinputs: Payment method selection
- step 7Licence issuance and Establishment CardInvestor / DAFZAinputs: Visa application detailsuploads: Additional documents for visa processing
Automation risks
- Initial approval and KYC involve manual review; mismatched documents can cause delays
- Portal may have CAPTCHA, rate limiting, or session timeouts
- Workspace lease selection may require human interaction or negotiation
- Payment gateway may require 3D Secure or other interactive verification
- Document upload size/format restrictions may block automated submissions
Open integration gaps
- No information on an agent or partner program for DAFZ was found in the provided sources.
- Document format requirements (e.g., PDF, JPEG) are not specified.
- Signature and identity verification methods (e.g., e-signature, UAE Pass) are not detailed.
- API or bulk submission capabilities are not mentioned.
- Exact URL for the DAFZA Investor Portal and the Invest in Dubai platform are not provided.
- Login method details (e.g., username/password, UAE Pass) for the Client Portal are not specified.
- Terms of service or conditions that explicitly forbid automation were not found.
What we still do not know about DAFZ
The research names its own holes. They stay on the page until a source fills them.
Prices
- Immigration card fee not found in official price list; agent site velmontcrest.ae mentions amount not yet confirmed but unconfirmed.
- Medical and Emirates ID fees are included in the visa fee according to the official price list; separate line‑item not available.
- Light Industrial Unit official price list snippet not provided; only agent figure from DXBStart used.
- Visa renewal costs not explicitly listed; visa fees shown are for new employment only.
- Coworking products beyond the Smart Office desk (e.g., Smart Office Plus) lack detailed pricing in the provided sources.
- Share capital paid‑up requirement: official guide states minimum amount not yet confirmed, but practical requirements may vary by activity; exact paid‑up enforcement not detailed.
Structure and process
- Year of establishment not found in provided sources
- Exact processing timeline (typical days) not specified; general UAE free zone guidance suggests 14 working days but not confirmed for DAFZ
- Activity catalogue count and mixing rules not available
- Portal URL not explicitly provided; likely integrated into main website
- E-signature capability not mentioned
- Payment methods not detailed
- Agent/partner program details not found
- Lease agreement signing method (physical vs. electronic) not specified
Compliance
- Financial year: no explicit statement on ability to choose year-end or first period max months.
- Audit submission deadline: conflicting agent sources (6 months vs 90 days); no official DAFZ source found.
- Corporate tax registration deadline not specified.
- VAT designated zone status not confirmed.
- ESR specific requirements not detailed in DAFZ sources.
- AML/goAML registration not mentioned.
- Visa and labour information not available.
- Banking information not available.
- Deregistration process and cost not available.
- Licence renewal late penalty amount not specified.
- Audit fee/penalty amount not specified.
- Corporate tax late registration penalty not found.
- Accounting records retention: DAFZA 5 years, FTA 7 years; practical guidance 7 years.
Sources
Everything above was read from these pages. The read date is on each line.