Dubai · Dubai International Financial Centre Authority (DIFCA) [difc.com](https://www.difc.com/business/establish-a-business) [dlp.dubai.gov.ae](https://dlp.dubai.gov.ae/Legislation%20Reference/2004/Law%209%20of%202004.html) · all zones
DIFC
A leading financial free zone in Dubai, offering a common law framework, 100% foreign ownership, tax advantages, and a broad range of financial and non-financial activities. difc.com assets.difc.com
Packages, as published
Official rows come from the authority's own list. A row marked agent comes from a reseller because the authority does not publish that package, and it can contain a margin.
| Package | Licence | Visas | Workspace | Setup | Renewal | Kind | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DIFC Innovation License (Official)Official fees: registration amount not yet confirmed, license amount not yet confirmed, coworking desk amount not yet confirmed+VAT (mandatory), plus amount not yet confirmed Knowledge fee. Converted at amount not yet confirmed = amount not yet confirmed. Renewal assumes year 2 with same license and coworking, excluding optional data protection/confirmation statement. | Innovation | n/a | flexi desk | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | official | assets.difc.com |
| Active Enterprise Commercial PackageOfficial fees: incorporation amount not yet confirmed, license amount not yet confirmed/year, plus amount not yet confirmed Knowledge fee. Office space required for visas but not included in package. Converted at amount not yet confirmed = amount not yet confirmed. | Active Enterprise | n/a | none | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | official | assets.difc.com |
| Private Company (Non-Retail)Official fees: incorporation amount not yet confirmed, license amount not yet confirmed/year, plus amount not yet confirmed Knowledge fee. Office space additional. Converted at amount not yet confirmed = amount not yet confirmed. | Private Company | n/a | none | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | official | assets.difc.com |
| Private Company (Retail)Official fees: incorporation amount not yet confirmed, license amount not yet confirmed/year, plus amount not yet confirmed Knowledge fee. Office space additional. Converted at amount not yet confirmed = amount not yet confirmed. | Private Company | n/a | none | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | official | assets.difc.com |
| Innovation License Package (Zero Visa)Agent's all-inclusive package including license, coworking desk, and 0 visas. Source: freezonecompare.com | Innovation | n/a | flexi desk | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | freezonecompare.com |
| Innovation License Package (1 Visa)Agent's all-inclusive package including license, coworking desk, 1 employment visa, establishment card. Source: freezonecompare.com | Innovation | n/a | flexi desk | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | freezonecompare.com |
| Innovation License Package (2 Visas)Agent's all-inclusive package including license, coworking desk, 2 visas. Source: freezonecompare.com | Innovation | n/a | flexi desk | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | freezonecompare.com |
| Innovation License Package (4 Visas)Agent's all-inclusive package including license, coworking desk, 4 visas (max per desk). Source: freezonecompare.com | Innovation | n/a | flexi desk | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | freezonecompare.com |
| Sahla EssentialAgent package including one investor visa (2 years), medical, Emirates ID, health insurance, and minimum office. Source: sahla.ae | Private Company | n/a | office | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | sahla.ae |
- Innovation License: subsidized license fee amount not yet confirmed/year (normally amount not yet confirmed) for first 2 years; discounted PSA deposit amount not yet confirmed (normally amount not yet confirmed); up to 4 visas per flexi desk.
- Active Enterprise Commercial Package: incorporation amount not yet confirmed, annual license amount not yet confirmed.
- Fund Manager for Venture Capital, Future of Finance or Future Economies: nil incorporation fee, discounted license renewals (first renewal amount not yet confirmed, second amount not yet confirmed, third amount not yet confirmed).
Fees, line by line
The figures our sum is built from. Only a proven fee is shown; the rest read not yet confirmed, and a reseller-only figure says so on its line.
The line stays visible and reads not yet confirmed. A figure the research records but the verification pass has not proven is never shown, and never becomes a zero.
Company and licence types
- Private Company
Minimum 1 - Branch of a Foreign Company
N/A (parent company)
- Commercial Licence
Non-financial activities, contracting for municipal and commercial services essential to premises and operations. assets.difc.com - Financial Services Licence
Banking, brokerage, asset management, advisory, market making, custody, money services, and other financial activities. assets.difc.com - Representative Office Licence
Marketing and liaison activities for a parent company. assets.difc.com - Active Enterprise Licence
Flexible setup for qualifying applicants (government-related entities), with co-working or approved business address options. assets.difc.com
How the authority processes it
Each step names who holds it. Days are the authority's published figure or a gap.
- step 1 · days gapSubmit 'Register with DIFC' application via portal (no payment)Applicant
- step 2 · days gapReceive Initial Approval EmailDIFC
- step 3 · days gapSecure Registered Address (lease office or co-working space)Applicant
- step 4 · days gapPayment of fees and e-signing of constitutional documentsApplicant
- step 5 · days gapObtain License and Certificate of IncorporationDIFC
DIFC companies are generally restricted to activities within the free zone or internationally. Direct mainland trading may require a local distributor or a mainland license. However, DIFC law permits Centre Establishments to be located outside the Centre for up to 4 years under certain conditions, with activities deemed as conducted within the Centre. dlp.dubai.gov.ae
DIFC companies may qualify as a Qualifying Free Zone Person for 0% corporate tax on qualifying income, subject to conditions. Standard UAE corporate tax rates apply: 0% on taxable income up to amount not yet confirmed, 9% above that. All companies must register for corporate tax. assets.difc.com
Documents the authority asks for
- not researched
- not researched
After the licence
Financial year, audit, corporate tax, VAT, UBO and renewal, as the authority states them.
How we file it
Internal view of the authority's channels and screens. It is what a filing integration has to work against, not a promise that the filing is live. integration source
- step 1Submit 'Register with DIFC' applicationApplicant or authorised CSPinputs: Business sector of principal activity, Type of setup (new entity, branch, transfer), Legal structure (Company), Company type (Private Company, etc.), Applicant's capacity (e.g., shareholder, director, CSP)uploads: Notarised Power of Attorney (if applicable), Bank statements / Financial statements, Board resolution (for corporate shareholders)
- step 2Receive Initial Approval EmailSystem (DIFC), typically within 3 to 5 working days
- step 3Respond to requests for further information (if any)Applicant (portal user)inputs: Additional clarifications or documents as requesteduploads: Requested documents
- step 4E‑sign constitutional documents and pay feesAuthorised signatory (applicant or director)inputs: E‑sign Articles of Association and Personnel Sponsorship Agreement (if applicable) via Docusign
- step 5Obtain License & Certificate of IncorporationSystem (DIFC), issued after successful payment and signing
Automation risks
- E‑signing via Docusign requires manual action by the authorised signatory; cannot be fully automated without signatory involvement.
- Digital passport verification may require live capture or manual upload, potentially blocking fully automated flows.
- Credit card payments may require 3D Secure authentication, which is interactive.
- Portal may employ CAPTCHA or session timeouts not documented in sources.
Open integration gaps
- No details on CSP registration process, fees, or how to apply.
- Document format requirements (e.g., PDF, JPG) not specified.
- No API or bulk submission capabilities found.
- Terms of use for the DIFC Portal not provided; cannot confirm if automation is explicitly forbidden.
- Step 3 (additional information requests) is implied but not explicitly numbered in the official five‑step process; details are inferred.
What we still do not know about DIFC
The research names its own holes. They stay on the page until a source fills them.
Prices
- Exact medical and Emirates ID costs not separately listed in official DIFC sources; assumed included in employment package.
- Share capital paid-up requirement not explicitly stated; assumed not required as no minimum capital for Innovation License and only 'greater than 0' for Private Company.
- Office requirement for Active Enterprise package not specified; likely required for visas.
- Coworking desk discounted rate (amount not yet confirmed) observed in agent package but not confirmed in official sources.
- Visa costs for Private Company from mirdxbpro.com (citing GSO handbook) used as reference, but official GSO handbook not directly provided.
Structure and process
- No official fee schedule for standard company setup found; only Active Enterprise fees (amount not yet confirmed application, amount not yet confirmed annual license) are mentioned.
- Detailed document checklist for individual and corporate shareholders not provided.
- Activity catalogue with count and mixing rules not available.
- Total typical setup duration not specified beyond initial approval (3-5 days).
- Portal URL not explicitly given; assumed to be accessible via DIFC website.
- Bank account opening process and requirements not covered.
- Specific license categories and permitted activities per license not detailed.
Compliance
- Financial year first period maximum months not specified in sources.
- Audit threshold for private company turnover not fully legible in source; exact figure missing.
- License renewal fee given in USD (e.g., amount not yet confirmed for private/public company) without AED conversion; penalty for late renewal not specified.
- Corporate tax registration deadline not provided.
- VAT designated zone status for DIFC not confirmed in sources.
- ESR (Economic Substance Regulations) status not mentioned.
- AML/goAML registration requirement not mentioned.
- Visa and labour information not available.
- Banking details (commonly used banks, account opening timelines, minimum balance, pain points) not available.
- Deregistration process and cost not available.
- Penalty for late filing of audited accounts is amount not yet confirmed; AED equivalent not provided.
Sources
Everything above was read from these pages. The read date is on each line.