Dubai · Department of Economy and Tourism (DET) · all zones
Dubai mainland
Dubai mainland jurisdiction under DET, allowing companies to operate commercially throughout the UAE without geographic restrictions, suitable for trading within the UAE and direct local market access. dubai.ae investindubai.gov.ae arnifi.com
Packages, as published
Official rows come from the authority's own list. A row marked agent comes from a reseller because the authority does not publish that package, and it can contain a margin.
| Package | Licence | Visas | Workspace | Setup | Renewal | Kind | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Instant LicenseFrom amount not yet confirmed all-in, 2026 planning figures, no office required in year one | professional/commercial | n/a | virtual | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | dubaimainlandcompanysetup.com |
| Professional/Commercial License with Serviced Desk and 1 Investor VisaFrom amount not yet confirmed - 22,000 all-in, 2026 planning figures | professional/commercial | n/a | serviced desk | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | dubaimainlandcompanysetup.com |
| 1 Visa PackageFrom amount not yet confirmed, 1-year licence, flexi-desk/office options | mainland | n/a | flexi-desk | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | goldenkeybcs.com |
| 2 Visa PackageFrom amount not yet confirmed, 1-year licence | mainland | n/a | flexi-desk | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | goldenkeybcs.com |
| 3 Visa PackageFrom amount not yet confirmed, 1-year licence | mainland | n/a | flexi-desk | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | goldenkeybcs.com |
| 5 Visa PackageFrom amount not yet confirmed, 1-year licence | mainland | n/a | flexi-desk | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | goldenkeybcs.com |
| Professional License with 1 Investor VisaStarts from amount not yet confirmed* | professional | n/a | not specified | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | dubiz.co |
| Commercial License with 1 Investor VisaStarts from amount not yet confirmed* | commercial | n/a | not specified | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | dubiz.co |
| Mainland LLCamount not yet confirmed to amount not yet confirmed first year | commercial | n/a | physical office with Ejari | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | breeobusiness.com |
Fees, line by line
The figures our sum is built from. Only a proven fee is shown; the rest read not yet confirmed, and a reseller-only figure says so on its line.
The line stays visible and reads not yet confirmed. A figure the research records but the verification pass has not proven is never shown, and never becomes a zero.
Company and licence types
- Limited Liability Company
1-50 shareholders, individuals or corporates; 100% foreign ownership allowed for many activities. [mirdxbpro.com](https://mirdxbpro.com/guides/dubai-mainland-licence-types/) - Sole Establishment
Single individual owner; foreign professionals can hold for professional activities. [mirdxbpro.com](https://mirdxbpro.com/guides/dubai-mainland-licence-types/) - Civil Company
Partnership of professionals (e.g., doctors, lawyers); 100% foreign ownership allowed for certain professions. [mirdxbpro.com](https://mirdxbpro.com/guides/dubai-mainland-licence-types/) - Branch of a Foreign Company
100% owned by parent foreign company. [mirdxbpro.com](https://mirdxbpro.com/guides/dubai-mainland-licence-types/) - Joint Stock Company
Public or private; minimum shareholders as per UAE Commercial Companies Law. [mirdxbpro.com](https://mirdxbpro.com/guides/dubai-mainland-licence-types/)
- Commercial licence
Buying and selling of goods and services, including import and export, logistics, retail, software trading, construction and real estate. mirdxbpro.com - Professional licence
Service-based businesses offering expertise and specialised services, such as consulting, administrative services, educational institutions. mirdxbpro.com - Industrial licence
Manufacturing, production, packaging, segregation, or collection of goods. mirdxbpro.com - Tourism permits
Hotels, holiday homes, timeshares, tour companies, safaris and desert camps. mirdxbpro.com - e-Trader licence
Home-based business selling products or services online, issued under Sole Proprietorship. mirdxbpro.com - Intelaq licence
Home-based business licence for UAE or GCC nationals residing in Dubai. mirdxbpro.com - Instant Licence
Licence issued within five minutes for activities needing no external approval beyond DET, with a virtual site for the first year. mirdxbpro.com - SME licence
Mohammed Bin Rashid Establishment licence with reduced or exempted fees for UAE and GCC national entrepreneurs. mirdxbpro.com - Dual licence
Allows a Dubai free zone company to operate in the emirate through a branch or under a six-month permit. mirdxbpro.com
How the authority processes it
Each step names who holds it. Days are the authority's published figure or a gap.
- step 1 · days gapChoose business activity and legal structureApplicant
- step 2 · days gapReserve trade nameApplicant via DET portal
- step 3 · days gapApply for initial approvalApplicant submits to DET
- step 4 · days gapDraft and notarise Memorandum of AssociationApplicant with notary public
- step 5 · days gapSecure office and register EjariApplicant
- step 6 · days gapSubmit final application and pay feesApplicant
- step 7 · days gapObtain trade licenseDET issues
- step 8 · days gapPost-license: register for corporate tax, open bank account, apply for visasApplicant
Yes, mainland companies can trade directly within the UAE without restrictions. investindubai.gov.ae
Mainland companies are subject to standard UAE corporate tax (9% on taxable income exceeding amount not yet confirmed). They are not eligible for the 0% qualifying free zone person regime. agrawalkhandelwal.com mentions mandatory corporate tax registration.
Documents the authority asks for
- Passport copy dubaieconomycenter.ae
- Emirates ID (if UAE resident) dubaieconomycenter.ae
- Passport-sized photographs dubaieconomycenter.ae
- Trade name reservation certificate dubaieconomycenter.ae
- Memorandum of Association (for LLCs) dubaieconomycenter.ae
- Office lease agreement (Ejari) dubaieconomycenter.ae
- NOC from current sponsor (if applicable) dubaieconomycenter.ae
- Professional qualifications (if applicable) dubaieconomycenter.ae
- Residence permit/visa copy (if applicable) dubai.ae
- Board resolution agrawalkhandelwal.com
- Certificate of incorporation agrawalkhandelwal.com
- Memorandum and Articles of Association agrawalkhandelwal.com
- Passport copies of authorized signatories agrawalkhandelwal.com
- Emirates ID of authorized signatories (if resident) agrawalkhandelwal.com
- Office lease agreement (Ejari) dubaieconomycenter.ae
After the licence
Financial year, audit, corporate tax, VAT, UBO and renewal, as the authority states them.
How we file it
Internal view of the authority's channels and screens. It is what a filing integration has to work against, not a promise that the filing is live. integration source
- step 1Log in to Invest in Dubai portalInvestor (or representative with UAE Pass)inputs: UAE Pass credentials
- step 2Select legal form and business activitiesInvestorinputs: Legal form (LLC, One Person LLC, Sole Establishment, Civil Company), Business activities from approved list
- step 3Add shareholder and manager detailsInvestorinputs: Shareholder details (name, passport, Emirates ID if resident), Manager details
- step 4Sign electronic Memorandum of Association (MOA) via UAE PassAll shareholders/managers via their UAE Passinputs: Electronic signature via UAE Pass
- step 5Pay government feesInvestorinputs: Payment method (online)
- step 6Receive digital trade licence and Chamber certificate by emailSystem
Automation risks
- UAE Pass authentication requires user interaction and biometric verification, hindering full automation.
- Instant license online requires UAE residency visa and Emirates ID for foreign shareholders; non-residents must apply in person, blocking remote automation.
- Electronic MOA signing requires each shareholder/manager to sign via their own UAE Pass, making it difficult to automate for multiple parties.
- The portal may have anti-bot measures (CAPTCHA, rate limiting) not documented but typical.
- Changes in portal workflow or requirements could break automated scripts.
Open integration gaps
- No official agent or partner program for submitting applications on behalf of clients was found in the provided sources.
- No specific document format requirements (e.g., PDF, JPEG) mentioned; online instant license requires no uploads, in-person requires physical copies.
- No information on application status tracking mechanisms (e.g., dashboard, notifications) was found.
- No mention of an API or bulk submission capability for agents or corporate service providers.
- Specific fee amounts (licence issuance, activity fees, etc.) are not detailed in the sources; only general references to fees exist.
- No explicit terms of service prohibiting automation were found.
What we still do not know about Dubai mainland
The research names its own holes. They stay on the page until a source fills them.
Prices
- Official DET fee schedule not directly sourced from a government website; fees are from agent/legal sites citing Resolution 13/2011.
- Exact visa quota rules (1 visa per 9 sqm or 2 sqm) depend on activity type and are not fully specified.
- Renewal costs for many packages are not provided.
- Whether the DET licence issuance fee (amount not yet confirmed) is included in the licence fee (amount not yet confirmed) or additional is unclear.
- Office rent variability is high; lowest flexi-desk price may not be available for all activities.
- General Trading licence incurs an additional amount not yet confirmed fee, not reflected in the base licence fee.
Structure and process
- Established year of DET not found in sources.
- Activity catalogue count and official URL not provided.
- Detailed shareholder requirements for each company type not fully specified.
- Exact fees not mentioned in sources.
- API or integration details for DET portal not available.
- Partner/agent program details not found.
- eSignature and payment methods not specified.
- Renewal and compliance details are inferred, not explicitly sourced.
- Total typical days of 14 is based on connectgroup.co's '7-14 working days from initial submission to licence issuance' for standard licences; actual timeline may vary.
Compliance
- Corporate tax registration deadline not found
- UBO register requirement and filing location not specified
- AML goAML registration requirement not mentioned
- Specific visa and labour obligations not detailed
- Banking details (common banks, account opening time, minimum balance, pain points) not available
- Licence renewal late penalty not provided
- Audit submission deadline to DET not fixed
- Deregistration cost not given
- Approved auditor list existence confirmed but not detailed
- ESR notification penalty not provided
- Annual obligation costs (audit, licence renewal) not found
Sources
Everything above was read from these pages. The read date is on each line.