Sharjah · Sharjah Media City Free Zone Authority (SHAMS) · all zones
SHAMS
A creative and media hub offering cost-effective business setup with 100% foreign ownership, targeting entrepreneurs, startups, SMEs, and freelancers. shams.ae
Packages, as published
Official rows come from the authority's own list. A row marked agent comes from a reseller because the authority does not publish that package, and it can contain a margin.
| Package | Licence | Visas | Workspace | Setup | Renewal | Kind | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Media Package (zero visa)License fee amount not yet confirmed + Economic Register Fee amount not yet confirmed = amount not yet confirmed setup; renewal license fee amount not yet confirmed (price locked for life, per official price list) | Media | n/a | flexi desk | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | official | img1.wsimg.com |
| Standard Package (zero visa)License fee amount not yet confirmed + Economic Register Fee amount not yet confirmed = amount not yet confirmed setup; renewal license fee amount not yet confirmed (price locked for life) | Standard | n/a | flexi desk | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | official | img1.wsimg.com |
| Freelance Package (1 visa)All-inclusive one visa freelance package as advertised on startwith.shams.ae; renewal cost not published | Media | n/a | flexi desk | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | official | startwith.shams.ae |
| 1 Investor Visa PromotionPromotional all-inclusive package for business license and 1 investor visa (includes eChannel, immigration card, medical, biometric, change of status) | Media | n/a | flexi desk | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | official | startwithshams.com |
- 1 Investor Visa all-inclusive package for amount not yet confirmed (startwithshams.com)
- Freelance Package one visa all-inclusive amount not yet confirmed (startwith.shams.ae)
- Multi-year discount: 2% for 2 years, 3% for 3 years, 5% for 5 years, 10% for 10 years on license and visa allocation fees (official price list)
Fees, line by line
The figures our sum is built from. Only a proven fee is shown; the rest read not yet confirmed, and a reseller-only figure says so on its line.
The line stays visible and reads not yet confirmed. A figure the research records but the verification pass has not proven is never shown, and never becomes a zero.
Company and licence types
- Limited Liability Company
1 to 50 - Branch of Existing Company
N/A (parent company)
- Service License
Services and consultancy activities - Trading License
Wholesale & retail trading - Trader Package
E-commerce and general trading - Venture Studio License
Wide range of business activities
How the authority processes it
Each step names who holds it. Days are the authority's published figure or a gap.
- step 1 · days gapSubmit online application and upload required documentsApplicant
- step 2 · days gapAuthority review and issuance of licenseAuthority
Allowed with additional permits and import/export code from any UAE port. shams.ae shams.ae
Not specified in provided sources.
Documents the authority asks for
- Passport copies
- Client On-Boarding Form
- Authorized Signatory Form
- Declaration of Legal and Regulatory Compliance
- Business Plan (if required)
- KYC verification (online or physical appearance)
- Passport copies of authorized signatory
- Client On-Boarding Form
- Authorized Signatory Form
- Declaration of Legal and Regulatory Compliance
- Business Plan (if required)
- Ultimate Beneficial Owner Form
- KYC verification
After the licence
Financial year, audit, corporate tax, VAT, UBO and renewal, as the authority states them.
How we file it
Internal view of the authority's channels and screens. It is what a filing integration has to work against, not a promise that the filing is live. integration source
- step 1ConsultationShams Business Development Team and clientinputs: Business activities, Visa plan, Specific needs
- step 2SubmissionClient (via portal)uploads: Passport copy, EID or Visa (if applicable), Corporate documents (if corporate shareholder: Certificate of incorporation, Memorandum of association, Certificate of incumbency/Good Standing, Share Register, Board Resolution, Company Ownership Structure graph), Client On-Boarding Form, Authorized Signatory Form, Declaration of Legal and Regulatory Compliance, Business Plan (if required), Ultimate Beneficial Owner Form (if corporate), Pre-approval Forms (if applicable)
- step 3KYC & Application ApprovalClient (via dashboard, prompted by email)inputs: KYC verification (online or physical appearance), Application approval
- step 4License ProcessingShams Applicant Support Team
- step 5Company Documents IssuanceShams (documents sent to client email)
Automation risks
- KYC verification may require manual review
- Application approval may involve human checks
- Document validation may not be fully automated
- Reliance on email notifications for status updates
- Portal may have anti-bot measures (not confirmed)
Open integration gaps
- Official fee schedule not available in provided sources (price list page not included)
- Document file format specifications not mentioned
- E-signature technology details not provided
- No information on API or bulk submission capabilities
- No official agent/partner program found in sources
- Exact portal dashboard tracking features not described officially
What we still do not know about SHAMS
The research names its own holes. They stay on the page until a source fills them.
Prices
- Renewal cost for visa-inclusive packages (Freelance, 1 Investor Visa Promotion) not published
- Whether share capital of amount not yet confirmed must be paid up is not specified in sources
- Exact VAT treatment: official price list does not mention VAT; calculator totals (5,760/6,885) are slightly higher than license fee + 10, possibly including VAT or other small fees
- Economic Register Fee (amount not yet confirmed) recurrence not specified (assumed one-time in setup)
- Medical test fee (365) is paid directly to medical centre and may vary
- Health insurance cost is mandatory but not quantified
- Dependent visa deposit amount not published
Structure and process
- Typical processing days not specified (only 'within days')
- Corporate tax qualifying free zone person status not mentioned
- Mixing rules for multiple activities on standard licenses not specified
- Bank account opening process not described
- Agent/partner program details not provided
- E-signature and payment methods not specified
- Physical visit requirements for visa stamping or other steps not mentioned
- Who it does not suit not explicitly stated
Compliance
- No official audit fee or penalty found
- Corporate tax registration deadline not specified
- UBO register, ESR, and AML/GoAML requirements not covered in sources
- Banking information (common banks, account opening, minimum balance, pain points) not available
- Visa and labour details not provided
- Designated zone status for VAT is unknown (not on published list)
- Licence renewal late penalty not found
- Deregistration cost not found
Sources
Everything above was read from these pages. The read date is on each line.