Abu Dhabi · Creative Media Authority (CMA) Abu Dhabi, formerly Media Zone Authority – Abu Dhabi (twofour54) · all zones
twofour54
Abu Dhabi's media free zone for creative industries, including media, gaming, entertainment, and content production, offering 100% foreign ownership, zero tax, and a purpose-built creative community.
Packages, as published
Official rows come from the authority's own list. A row marked agent comes from a reseller because the authority does not publish that package, and it can contain a margin.
| Package | Licence | Visas | Workspace | Setup | Renewal | Kind | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Freelancer 12-Month No VisaYear 1 total includes waived licence, establishment card, e-channel, admin fees; no visa or office. Renewal assumes continued waiver for Year 2, then standard licence fee from Year 3. | freelance | n/a | none | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | freezonecompare.com |
| FZ-LLC Hot Desk with 1 VisaYear 1 total includes waived licence, flexi desk, 1 visa, insurance, establishment card, e-channel. Renewal assumes post-waiver standard licence fee of AED 12,500, desk AED 20,000, establishment card AED 755, insurance AED 1,515. | commercial | n/a | flexi desk | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | freezonecompare.com |
| FZ-LLC Hot Desk with 2 VisasYear 1 total includes waived licence, flexi desk, 2 visas, insurance, establishment card, e-channel. Renewal assumes post-waiver standard licence fee AED 12,500, desk AED 20,000, establishment card AED 755, insurance AED 1,515 × 2. | commercial | n/a | flexi desk | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | freezonecompare.com |
| FZ-LLC Private Office with 3 VisasYear 1 total includes waived licence, private office, 3 visas, insurance, establishment card, e-channel. Renewal assumes post-waiver standard licence fee AED 12,500, office AED 54,264, establishment card AED 755, insurance AED 1,515 × 3. | commercial | n/a | office | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | agent | freezonecompare.com |
- License and registration fees fully waived for the first two years from date of issue (T&C apply).
Fees, line by line
The figures our sum is built from. Only a proven fee is shown; the rest read not yet confirmed, and a reseller-only figure says so on its line.
The line stays visible and reads not yet confirmed. A figure the research records but the verification pass has not proven is never shown, and never becomes a zero.
Company and licence types
- Free Zone Limited Liability Company
Individual and/or corporate shareholders; at least two directors, one general manager, one company secretary (same person can hold multiple roles); no minimum share capital. - Branch of a Foreign or Local Company
Parent company must indicate decision to set up branch; a General Manager must be appointed.
- General Media
General media activities (48 activities listed) - Gaming & E-Sports
Gaming and e-sports activities (25 activities listed) - Broadcast & Publishing
Broadcast and publishing activities (11 activities listed)
How the authority processes it
Each step names who holds it. Days are the authority's published figure or a gap.
- step 1 · days gapApply online and submit initial informationApplicant
- step 2 · days gapGet Customer Portal AccessCMA
- step 3 · days gapSubmit required documentsApplicant
- step 4 · days gapPay fees (license fee waived for first 2 years)Applicant
- step 5 · days gapReceive licenseCMA
Yes, via ADDED Dual Licence (twofour54 secured a DED branch-licence agreement in 2018, enabling mainland trading).
CMA advertises 0% corporate tax; under UAE CT regime, qualifying free zone persons can benefit from 0% on qualifying income. Exact conditions not detailed in sources.
Documents the authority asks for
- Completed application form
- Business plan
- Coloured passport copies of shareholder(s) and appointed Manager/Director
- Specimen signature of shareholder(s) and Manager/Director
- Certificate of reference from a personal bank of the individual shareholder
- NOC from current sponsor (for individuals)
- Unit title deed
- Letter of Intent
- Registry Identification Code Form (RIC) for Manager/Director (Original and notarised)
- Passport-size photo of Manager/Director against white background
- Share capital information
- Completed application form
- Business plan
- Copy of existing trade licence/registration certificate (if existing company)
- Coloured passport copies of shareholder(s) and appointed Manager/Director
- Specimen signature of shareholder(s) and Manager/Director
- 2 years' audited financial reports for corporate entity
- Board Resolution appointing Manager/Director (Notarised and attested)
- Power of Attorney given to Manager/Director (Notarised and attested)
- Memorandum and Articles of Association (Notarised and attested)
- Specimen signature of Manager/Director (Notarised and attested)
- Passport-size photo of Manager/Director against white background
- Share capital information
After the licence
Financial year, audit, corporate tax, VAT, UBO and renewal, as the authority states them.
How we file it
Internal view of the authority's channels and screens. It is what a filing integration has to work against, not a promise that the filing is live. integration source
- step 1ApplicationApplicantinputs: Company name, Business activity, Shareholder details, Director details (minimum two individual directors required)
- step 2Portal AccessCMA (creates account and provides login)
- step 3Submit DocumentsApplicantuploads: Passport copies of shareholders and directors, UBO declarations, Proof of office space in the Creative Zone (mandatory per CMA FAQ), Share capital deposit confirmation (deposited into company bank account), Business plan, Specimen signatures (notarised), Board resolution appointing manager/director (notarised and attested), Memorandum and Articles of Association (notarised and attested), Passport-size photo of manager/director, Registry Identification Code Form (RIC) for manager/director (original and notarised)
- step 4PaymentApplicantinputs: Payment method selection (online card or wire transfer)
- step 5LicensingCMA (issues licence within 14 working days)
Automation risks
- Account creation is performed manually by CMA, not self-service
- Requirement for notarised and attested physical documents
- Share capital deposit confirmation must be obtained from a bank
- Proof of office space in the Creative Zone is mandatory
- Manual review of documents by the authority
Open integration gaps
- Exact official fee schedule not found; only agent-published figures (DXBStart) available, marked as agent. Official fees are waived for first 2 years per CMA, but underlying amounts not confirmed on official site.
- Document format requirements (e.g., PDF, size limits) not specified.
- E-signature or digital signing options not mentioned.
- API or bulk submission capabilities not documented.
- No official agent/partner program information found.
- Freelance licence process differs and is not covered in this company-formation research.
What we still do not know about twofour54
The research names its own holes. They stay on the page until a source fills them.
Prices
- Establishment card fee discrepancy: official ad.twofour54.com page lists AED 754.55, while a twofour54.com article lists AED 854.55. The lower official figure is used.
- ICA E-Channel fee discrepancy: official page says AED 2,080, article says AED 2,180. Official figure used.
- GM pre-approval fee: article says AED 500, official page says AED 525 (GM Security Check). Official figure used.
- Visa cost per person is not a single official figure; it comprises multiple components (employed visa, residence permit, Emirates ID, medical). Medical examination cost not found in sources.
- Health insurance plan cost is variable and not provided; only admin fee of AED 200 is listed.
- Share capital minimum: CMA states share capital must be deposited but no minimum amount is published. Agent source (sijil.ae) claims no minimum and notional capital not deposited, contradicting official CMA statement. Official requirement of deposit is reported.
- Office requirement: official CMA site states an office is mandatory for the business licence. The freelancer package from freezonecompare.com has no office, which may apply to a different permit type.
- Co-Lab and Co-Create office prices from emirae.pro are cited as from the official cost calculator, but the period (monthly/yearly) is not stated. Assumed per year.
- Official equivalent for agent package excludes health insurance plan cost, so true official total would be higher.
- Renewal costs after the two-year waiver period are based on the standard licence fee of AED 12,500 per year as stated on the official page, but post-waiver workspace and other charges may vary.
Structure and process
- Exact license and registration fees (beyond the 2-year waiver) not provided.
- Detailed step durations within the 14-day timeline not specified.
- Specific physical visit requirements for company formation (only freelancer ID check explicitly mentioned).
- E-signature availability not mentioned.
- Agent/partner program details and how to become an agent not found.
- Payment methods (credit card, bank transfer, etc.) not specified.
- Renewal fees and annual compliance obligations not detailed.
- Qualifying free zone person conditions under UAE CT not elaborated.
- Mixing rules for activities across license categories not explicitly stated.
Compliance
- financial_year.first_period_max_months: not specified in sources
- accounting_records.standard: not explicitly stated (likely IFRS but unconfirmed)
- audit.submission_deadline: not found
- audit.fee_or_penalty_aed: no specific amount provided
- corporate_tax.late_registration_penalty_aed: not found in sources
- vat.designated_zone: twofour54's VAT designated zone status not confirmed
- esr_ubo_aml.aml_goaml_registration: not mentioned for twofour54
- annual_obligations[*].penalty_aed: no penalty amounts found
- licence_renewal.late_penalty_aed: not found
- banking: no information on banks, account opening, minimum balance, or pain points
- deregistration.process and cost_aed: not found
Sources
Everything above was read from these pages. The read date is on each line.