Umm Al Quwain · Umm Al Quwain Free Trade Zone Authority · all zones
UAQ FTZ
A transformative government business licensing authority in Umm Al Quwain offering low-cost setup, 0% tax, 100% foreign ownership, remote setup, and access to over 1,500 business activities.
Packages, as published
Official rows come from the authority's own list. A row marked agent comes from a reseller because the authority does not publish that package, and it can contain a margin.
| Package | Licence | Visas | Workspace | Setup | Renewal | Kind | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| UAQ LYTE (Commercial/Service)Official package price as published by UAQ FTZ and confirmed by setupcosts.com | Commercial/Consultancy/Service | n/a | flexi desk | AED 5,500 | not yet confirmed | official | setupcosts.com |
| UAQ LYTE (General Trading)Official package price from UAQ FTZ blog | General Trading | 0 | flexi desk | AED 7,000 | AED 7,000 | official | uaqftz.gov.ae |
| UAQ START (1 Visa)Official all-inclusive package price from UAQ FTZ blog and setupcosts.com | Any (up to 10 activities) | n/a | flexi desk | AED 12,500 | not yet confirmed | official | uaqftz.gov.ae |
| UAQ Plus (2 Visas)Official package price from sijil.ae (aggregator citing official rates) | Commercial/Consultancy/Service | n/a | flexi desk | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | official | sijil.ae |
| Two-Visa Package (unclear contents)Official price mentioned in setupcosts.com; contents not stated | Not specified | n/a | flexi desk | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | official | setupcosts.com |
| Premium 4-Visa PackageOfficial package price from freezonecompare.com | Not specified | n/a | flexi desk | not yet confirmed | not yet confirmed | official | freezonecompare.com |
- General Trading License from amount not yet confirmed (no visa)
- UAQ START all-inclusive package at amount not yet confirmed
- UAQ LYTE at amount not yet confirmed
Fees, line by line
The figures our sum is built from. Only a proven fee is shown; the rest read not yet confirmed, and a reseller-only figure says so on its line.
The line stays visible and reads not yet confirmed. A figure the research records but the verification pass has not proven is never shown, and never becomes a zero.
Company and licence types
- Free Zone Establishment
single shareholder - Free Zone Company
2 to 50 shareholders - Branch of an existing company
not applicable
- Commercial
Importing, exporting, distributing, storing items; trading products; e-commerce - Consultancy/Service
Consultancy and service activities - Industrial
Import raw materials, manufacture/process/assemble/package, export finished products - Freelancer
Freelance activities - Premium Commercial
Special activities like private airplane charter, ports management, ship management, freight broker, investment, etc.
How the authority processes it
Each step names who holds it. Days are the authority's published figure or a gap.
- step 1 · days gapChoose three proposed business namesApplicant
- step 2 · days gapDecide activity and license type, submit documentsApplicant
- step 3 · days gapSign incorporation documents and submit originalsApplicant
- step 4 · days gapSend required paymentApplicant
- step 5 · 1 dTrade license issuanceAuthority
Only through a local distributor or agent. No restrictions on participating in exhibitions.
Source states 0% corporate and personal tax. However, UAE corporate tax law effective June 2023 may apply; free zone persons may qualify for 0% on qualifying income if conditions met. Not specified in provided sources.
Documents the authority asks for
- Three proposed company names in order of preference
- Scanned colour copy of completed application form
- Colour copy of passport
- Two passport-sized photographs
- Proof of residence (recent utility bill with name and address, or last UAE entry stamp or UAE visa)
- not researched
After the licence
Financial year, audit, corporate tax, VAT, UBO and renewal, as the authority states them.
How we file it
Internal view of the authority's channels and screens. It is what a filing integration has to work against, not a promise that the filing is live. integration source
- step 1Select company name and activityApplicantinputs: Three proposed company names (in order of preference), Business activity, License type
- step 2Submit required documentsApplicantuploads: Colour copy of passport, Proof of residence (utility bill or UAE entry stamp/visa), Completed application form (if not filled online)
- step 3Sign incorporation documentsApplicant (signs) and authority (provides documents)inputs: Original signatures on incorporation documents
- step 4Submit paymentApplicantinputs: Payment details
- step 5Receive licenseAuthority issues license
Automation risks
- Requirement for original signed documents
- Physical presence for visa stamping and biometrics
- Name approval may involve manual review
- No API for submission
- Payment may require manual processing
Open integration gaps
- Exact online application portal URL for new license not provided
- Document format specifications not given
- Payment methods not detailed
- Agent/partner program existence not confirmed
- Status tracking mechanism not described
- API or bulk submission capabilities not mentioned
What we still do not know about UAQ FTZ
The research names its own holes. They stay on the page until a source fills them.
Prices
- Price for UAQ START (General Trading) with 1 visa not explicitly confirmed; assumed same as Commercial START (amount not yet confirmed) based on all-inclusive package description.
- Contents of the amount not yet confirmed two-visa package not detailed.
- Official standalone visa fee schedule not published; costs are bundled.
- Establishment card official fee not separately published; agent fee of amount not yet confirmed from sahla.ae.
- Medical and Emirates ID costs vary; ranges from freezonecompare.com.
Structure and process
- Year of establishment not provided
- Corporate tax qualifying free zone person status not mentioned
- Detailed processing times for each step not provided
- Documents required for corporate shareholder not specified
- Portal name, API/integration, partner program, esignature details not provided
- Payment methods not specified
- Bank account opening process not mentioned
- Specific activity catalogue URL not provided (only count and general page)
Compliance
- Financial year rule: exact wording from official UAQ FTZ regulations not available; based on JAXA auditors' description.
- Accounting records standard (e.g., IFRS) not specified.
- Audit fee not provided; penalty amount from BCL may apply only to larger entities, but QFZP audit requirement is unconditional.
- Corporate Tax registration deadline not specified; only phased schedule mentioned.
- Corporate Tax return deadline not found.
- VAT thresholds and Designated Zone status for UAQ FTZ not in sources.
- UBO filing location and deadline not detailed.
- ESR specific guidance for UAQ FTZ not provided.
- AML/GoAML registration requirement not mentioned.
- License renewal late penalty not found.
- Visa and labour obligations not covered.
- Banking information not available.
- Deregistration process and cost not found.
Sources
Everything above was read from these pages. The read date is on each line.